Skip to content

God’s Favorite Kid

July 22, 2013

I am going to go out on a limb here and preach a little bit.  If that isn’t your thing, back slowly away or just graze the following content with a half smile…

I haven’t written for several weeks because I haven’t been really sure of how to say what I want to say. I have written several posts that never made it public because I felt a little bit like I was going out on a limb and once you are out there, it is really hard to come back.  It is much easier to fall.

So here goes:

I used to say all the time that I was God’s favorite kid.  Something good happened to me as no real result of my effort, I would just shrug and say “I’m God’s favorite kid”.  That is how I was raised.  That is how we talked in my house, that is what I believe in the real true core of my spirit.  I am God’s favorite kid.

See, when I was young, middle school age, not even a teenager, I geeked out on GRACE.  Some kids geeked out on Star Trek or sports.  For me, it was grace. I had a box set of cassette tapes by Kenneth Copeland about Grace and how grace empowered our contract with God as adoptees into His family.  I had notebooks filled with notes and thoughts and sermons and more thoughts and more notes on what it meant to me–personally–to be God’s kid.  I know.  I was a weird kid.  I still am.

But I have always lived in that world–having a very real, pragmatic view of what being God’s kid meant to me.  I am God’s favorite kid.

Um, I hear you saying, Um, Mareeka.  You have cancer.  It is kinda the bad kind and it seems to keep getting worse, not better.  Would God’s favorite kid get cancer?  Here is the short answer:  yes.

Here is the long answer:  I will not attempt to explain everything that I do not understand.  I do know that I live in a world that is wrought with sickness and disease and strife and disappointment and hurt.  I also know that life isn’t fair and in every life there is trouble.  I know that I am human.  But I am God’s favorite kid.  I know that I have been talking to God lately about not understanding my circumstances but KNOWING that He has a path laid out ahead of me.  I have been talking to God a lot about not getting in the way of my healing.  I have been talking to Him a lot about the promises He made and how He needs to hold up His end of the contract.

And this is the response I am getting.  Every time I go to God, I am reminded of His deep and abiding love for me.  Every time I go to God, He reminds me that out of His love for me he provided Grace that would meet every need.  Every time I go to God, He reinforces that I am indeed, His favorite kid.

I don’t believe that God allowed me to have cancer so I would learn something.  I don’t believe that.  I did, however, tell my dad that if I was going to go through this that I would be coming out the other side smarter.

Here is what I am learning–when we start to understand who God is and how much He loves us, nothing else is a stretch.  When we really start to grasp the intensity of which God loves us and how hungry He is to share that love with us and show us grace, everything else seems to get much smaller.  Healing isn’t a stretch, not when you are the favorite kid of an Almighty God.  Mountains that seemed to loom giant in front of us just seem to lose their scariness when you start looking at them through the eyes of God’s favorite kid.

I have been listening to lots of music and sermons to build up my spirit and feed my soul over the last few weeks and one song has played over and over and over.  There is a link to it here:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bnH4k3NHWoQ

The song goes:

No mountain, no valley
No gain or loss we know
Could keep us from Your love

No sickness, no secret
No chain is strong enough
To keep us from Your love
To keep us from Your love

How high? How wide?
No matter where I am
Healing is in Your hands

How deep? How strong?
Now by Your grace I stand
Healing is in Your hands

Our present, our future
Our past is in Your hands
We’re covered by Your blood
We’re covered by Your blood

How high? How wide?
No matter where I am
Healing is in Your hands

How deep? How strong?
Now by Your grace I stand
Healing is in Your hands

In all things we know that
We are more than conquerors
You keep us by Your love

How high? How wide? Oh, Lord
No matter where I am
Healing is in Your hands

How deep? How deep is Your love?
How strong? How strong is Your love?
Now by Your grace I stand
Healing is in Your hands

I have been listening to that song over and over and over and tears streaming down my face asking God–How do I get it out of Your hands and into mine?  God, I don’t want to get in my own way here.  I don’t want to let notions of how You work or what you do limit Your ability to act in my situation and I don’t know how God talks to you, but me, usually He gives me a picture and a thought to hold on to.  This is what I got–a picture of God, holding out all of these things in his hands–tangible, real life, everyday kinds of things–holding them out to me.  Just holding them there outstretched to me.  And I was singing this song over and over and I just heard the Holy Spirit say:  Put it in your hand.

So now when I sing that song, I don’t sing “Healing is in Your Hand” I sing “Healing is in MY hand”  And I still sing it over and over and over and tears are still streaming down my face every time I do, because I know.  I know.  I know.  Healing is in my hand.

Can you conceive of how much God loves us and wants to do good things for us?

What do you need to put in your hand today?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Hope permalink
    July 22, 2013 9:14 pm

    Mareeka, you are amazing. I truly feel inspired by your story. I pray daily for you and your family and hope to see more of your postings ASAP.

  2. Lance permalink
    July 22, 2013 10:18 pm

    Thank you for this. The tears were refreshing. I was diagnosed with MS last October after 3 1/2 years of slowly progressive symptoms. I’m inspired, encouraged and hopeful because of your faith and courage. We’ll be celebrating with you when the last sign of cancer is gone. Prayers and blessings.

  3. Peter Matthews permalink
    July 23, 2013 1:06 am

    Thanks for this. I’m encouraged!

  4. Elizabeth P permalink
    July 23, 2013 5:25 pm

    Mareeka, you should stay out on the limb and keep preaching. This was beautiful, thoughtful and true. I love this song and won’t listen now without thinking of (and praying for) you. I try to pray for you regularly and today in the Daily Office a verse stuck out to me with you in mind: The King’s daughter is all glorious within (Ps. 45 v. ? too lazy to get up a check!). I’m praying that all day today for you. I’m thankful that you grew up in a home learning that you are indeed God’s favorite kid and that even now, in revealing himself to you, he keeps affirming that you are.

  5. July 24, 2013 12:48 am

    Mareeka,
    You are such an inspiring young woman. I know your words here will touch many hearts and help us all understand a little more clearly how to seek God’s grace.

    I continue to pray for you and your family daily. I am proud to call you my sister. As Tom always says, Jesus loves you and so do I.

  6. Melissa permalink
    July 24, 2013 2:59 am

    Mareeka,

    Wow, I feel like I should be encouraging you and you just encouraged me. I saw this quote on a plaque today “Faith doesn’t make things easy… just possible.” You’re truly God’s favorite and one of mine too! I am continuing to pray for you. Love you girl!

  7. Gail permalink
    July 25, 2013 3:04 pm

    Mareeka, I just read this via your Dad’s post on Facebook. I just heard how sick you have been about a week ago. I am sending your story on to your cousins in Nevada and elsewhere. You and your family are in our thoughts and prayers. Take care and do well!

    Aunt Gail Richardson, mother of Deuce, Melissa, Stacy, Denise and Hidee

    • July 25, 2013 3:25 pm

      Gail,
      Fortunately, I don’t “feel” sick. I have some symptoms that are very manageable with meds and other things.

      Unfortunately, the way I “feel” doesn’t necessarily translate to my prognosis on paper.

      We just keep walking it out!
      Mareeka

      • Melissa Deitz permalink
        August 6, 2013 2:43 pm

        Hi Mareeka, this is your cousin Missy. Mom emailed your piece to me a few days ago. I am so sorry you’re struggling with this. But, you are clearly putting your hands out in the right direction. Your writing is wonderful. It will touch anyone who is feeling adrift, be it in their health, family or profession. Keep your positive attitude, as you know all things are possible through God. We will certainly be praying for you and your family. Take care.

  8. Sandra Johnson permalink
    July 26, 2013 3:44 pm

    Mareeka, You just preached to me and I receive. It is only when the rubber meets the road, that we truly know what we believe. You have taken hold of God and His word, just like a dog with a bone that refuses to let go. Praying and believing for one of God’s favorite children.

  9. genna melone permalink
    July 31, 2013 3:28 am

    God showed me in a dream how music can be a weapon against the enemy. it is my prayer language, and when I felt like I was being attacked the song that made the devil flee immediately was Jesus loves the little children, I was frustrated because that was the only song that came to my head, and I was thinking why would I sing this song for this battle, so I was rushing through the song trying to see if it would stop the attack and when I got to the end of the song I realized why God gave it to me, He wanted to show me when I am at my weakest that He is still strong, “I am weak, but He is strong”, so I repeated the ending over and over. that phrase was all I needed to destroy the attack on me that night. till this day I use that song when I feel weak, because nothing is too strong for Him.
    so keep singing your song and many, many, more to win this battle, it makes a wonderful weapon.

  10. Leigh permalink
    August 13, 2013 1:40 am

    Mareeka,
    Wow. Just wow. I’m so glad I discovered this. U r amazing.
    Peace and love,
    Leigh Turner

Leave a Reply

