Skip to content

It’s What All the Cool Kids are Wearing…

June 11, 2013

My niece is five months younger than Amelia and we love watching them grow together.  The first year there was a significant difference in those five months, since their first birthdays, there has been very little distinguishable in their age.  Then Amelia went and got herself potty trained just a little bit before her cousin.

 

Well, that playing field is leveled once again and Ms. Harper sent us a video with her newly minted song and dance about big girl panties.  “I’m wearing big girl panties, I’m wearing big girl panties.”  It is a little repetitive but very sweet.

 

One of my best friends is always encouraging me with the fact that I “have on my big girl panties” or I can “put on my big girl panties” and tough it out.  That I have the resources to get through this.

 

Well, this week, my car exploded.  Okay, really, the dealership told me that a starter coil exploded and took out the communication between my starter and the engine cylinders.  We have been carpooling around on a single vehicle.  We weren’t expecting to fork out for “hybrid” repairs.  Work is tooling back into busy mode.  And I just got a text from daycare that my son is biting.  People.

 

Needless to say, Harper’s song is spinning through my brain today:

 

I’m wearing big girl panties!  I’m wearing big girl panties!  I’m wearing big girl panties!  I’m wearing big girl panties!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Hannah permalink
    June 11, 2013 4:41 pm

    I would hesitate to call Harper “potty-trained”. Maybe “potty-training” would be a bit more accurate.

  2. Sarah F. permalink
    June 11, 2013 5:09 pm

    But she’s wearing big girl panties, Hannah!

    I love it, Mareeka. I’ve never known you to consider big girl panties optional. You are one of the few that show the rest of us how it’s done. ❤

Leave a Reply

