Skip to content

Turn, turn, turn, there is a season!

January 3, 2013

Happy New Year!

We had a mostly great holiday from Thanksgiving to the New Year with lots of food and family and rest and relaxation time. I am feeling back to normal, almost. I am weak as a kitten and have started working toward being strong again. All in due time.

I read back through my posts from 2012 and was pondering what the theme of the year would be. Initially, I thought it would be cancer. No brainer, right? Yes, lots of last year’s posts were cancer related but I found the overwhelming theme of even the cancer posts to be gratitude. We had and HAVE so much for which to be grateful as we head into 2013. We have wonderful family and friends who have supported us and provided for us last year. Thank you each and every one! We have family who dropped everything and just came to our rescue, sometimes not even to do anything for us but sit and hold our hand. We have been blessed with a team of medical professionals none of whom I would trade. We have been given another year of grace in which to live and love and share.

Now off to the races. We have started 2013 out with a bang. My husband’s mother was hospitalized over Christmas and is still there. Things are not looking good and right now we are awaiting test results to see how bad it is. This is the song and dance we know all too well. My poor husband. His life has been far too full of sickness in the last couple years. He needs some sunshine. And health. And a vacation from all of us, probably.

Last year I shared a few of my personal goals here and I will do the same now for 2013:

  1. I want to get my body back—a strong, healthy, whole body. I am taking steps to make that happen. Not any crazy, dogmatic steps, but slow, consistent steps.
  2. I want to write more. Not just sporadic blog posts, but some other things, too. I have a couple very concrete ideas, I am just not exactly sure where to start. My goals is to a) figure out how to start, and b) get to it.
  3. Potty train my daughter—maybe that doesn’t actually belong on this list, but at the rate we are going, it is going to be a crowning achievement this year. If it happens. I am not confident.

I am working hard to let go of the fear and stress and strain that consumed so much of our life last year and not bring it into this year. It was okay for last year. It was situational and very appropriate. It was acceptable for then, I just don’t want to build a house there. There is a time and a season and all that.

Where are you starting your 2013? Have you started building a house somewhere you shouldn’t? Are there things that would improve your life is you just let go? There is a time and a season, make sure you are living in the right one!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Hannah C. permalink
    January 4, 2013 2:51 am

    2012=2013. 🙂

Leave a Reply

