Skip to content

Shake it out!

September 10, 2012

There was a crazy woman running around the park today. She looked like she was either having a seizure or swatting a swarm of bees. That crazy woman was me. Let me give you the detail.

My life has a soundtrack. I think most everyone’s does. My early childhood was filled with Jimmy Swaggert, Big Band Sundays on NPR and library records of children’s songs. And the Chipmunk’s Christmas Album. High school–Cobain, Boys to Men, Billy Idol, and anything loud on the radio. College–college was a mix of all kinds of things but a couple that stick out strongly are Alison Crouse and Chris Rice. When Chris and I started dating there was lots of Coldplay. And Pete Yorn and Nora Jones.

The last few months I have been very careful to listen to things that are uplifting, make me smile and make me feel strong. I believe in the power of music to impact my mood and my entire outlook.

I have started walking and running in the last couple weeks now that I am physically able to move, once again. I made myself a playlist for exercise that would focus on two things: give me energy and make me feel strong. It has quite a mix. Barracuda, starts it off and it wanders around from there.

Today is my first a day of 365 days of Interferon and I went to the park after I dropped the kids to get my exercise before 1:40 came and brought with it the unknown. I was moving through my playlist at random when Florence and the Machines started Shake It Off. (listen here if you have no idea what I am talking about)

The words of the song and the driving melody resonated with me this morning. It is hard to dance with the Devil on your back. I do need a heart full of grace. I willshake it off!

Dear Reader, if you only know me casually you may not believe that I am telling the truth, but trust me. I am glad the park was empty (mostly) because I was looking like a hoodoo princess or someone who just flew over the cuckoo’s nest as I was walking around the park with headphones blaring, tears rolling down my cheeks, arms waving wildy in the air, hands flapping spastically. Yep. I was literally shaking the devil, and stress, and worries, and fears from my back. I may have made a strange picture in the middle of staid and quite Williamson County, but I think it worked.

I think that song will stay in rotation for a while.

Do you have a soundtrack? What is your song of the moment?

Keep the faith,
Mareeka

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Elaine permalink
    September 10, 2012 11:50 pm

    I’m laughing out loud! Hope someone got it on video so you can replay it down the road! What I’m mostly impressed with is that you were able to be authentic. What a gift that is. When I’m in church during worship, I WANT to be like others who can act out their praise to God, but I haven’t allowed myself to get there. You go girl, SHAKE IT OUT! And shake out any yucky parts of the treatment!

    BTW…can’t believe you were running – where do you get your energy?!

  2. Elaine permalink
    September 10, 2012 11:51 pm

    SHAKE IT OFF I mean!

  3. Janet permalink
    September 11, 2012 2:57 am

    “Dance like no one is watching!” Movement therapy!! Ain’t it great. Look up Gabrielle Roth. Sweating your prayers!

  4. Michelle permalink
    September 11, 2012 11:44 am

    See, in Asheville you would not have appeared out of place at all!

Leave a Reply

