Skip to content

20 points

July 24, 2012

Blah, Blah, blah. I have written three previous blog posts this week and all of them have been horrible. Whiny, sad, depressing missives on how horrible cancer is and how bad I have it. That is soooooooooooo not rue. Instead I am going to see how quickly I can list 20 things for which I can be grateful about this whole cancer thing. Start your timer:
1. I have a super supportive husband who has been there every step of the way and is quite possibly the smartest man alive.
2. I live 20 minutes from one of the foremost cancer treatment centers in the world and one of very few that have a specific melanoma program that provides me treatment opportunities that many others either travel to obtain or simply do not have the oportunity to get
3. I have family and friends who have been giving and supportive and helpful every step of the way
4. I have a job that has been absolutely fabulous about my absences and the time away from work that I have required
5. I have health insurance that has not left me penniless or in debt to obtain the treatment that I need
6. I am a stage 3, not a stage 4
7. I have two wonderful children who are progressing through all of their major milestones as though there was nothing going on in their home to distract them.
8. I have air conditioning that keeps me comfortable while I recover from this insidious leg surgery
9. I have plenty of good, healthy food to eat and clean fresh water to drink that comes right out of any faucet in my house.
10. I have a place and an opportunity to share both my struggles and my triumphs and receive encouragement from others
11. I have so many conveniences in my every day life that make both treatment and recovery far more than manageable—ipad, audiobooks, netflix, juicer, internet, Amazon, really, what more could I want?
12. I have a job that I love and am working on a contract that I enjoy and with people that both enjoy and appreciate me and my skills
13. I am NEVER alone
14. I am not crippled, disabled, maimed, or disfigured by this disease or by its treatment
15. I had the opportunity to get away with my family for a long and relaxing holiday even in the middle of all of this
16. I have a stupendous sister who has bent over backwards to help me and do things to just make me happy
17. Complete strangers have and comtinue to go out of their way to bless me and my family, say prayers for us, bless us
18. My dad prays for me without ceasing. Every day. Every day. Every day. So do many others.
19. This diagnosis is not a death sentence
20. I am alive and living and not sick and dying.

There, 20 things, 11 minutes 23 seconds. Not quite two things for every minute, but close.

I shall channel Judy Garland and continue to sing: Shout Hallelujah, come on get happy…

How quickly can you list twenty points of gratitude?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob Yates permalink
    July 25, 2012 10:17 am

    Mareeka, your attitude throughout this is inspiring. I would like to think that I would have a similar attitude if I was diagnosed with a similar disease but I’m not so sure. It’s far too easy to dwell on negative thoughts and emotions. Everyone that reads your blog can take away something from it that could help them deal with events that happen in their lives. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feelings.
    You are always in my prayers and thoughts!

    • July 25, 2012 2:59 pm

      Oh, Bob! If you only saw how many times I have mentally checked out or how many times Chris has said I was grumpy! It is a daily thing, sometimes an hourly thing, sometimes I fail miserably.

  2. July 27, 2012 6:00 am

    Yay Mareeka!!!!! Love these!!!! Love YOU!

  3. Kathy Klatt permalink
    July 27, 2012 10:18 pm

    Beautiful writing Mareeka!!! You are truly gifted!! Thanks for sharing your gift with all of us!!

Leave a Reply

