Skip to content

Passionate Patience

May 30, 2012

I read a post during my last visit to the plastic surgeon that mentioned passionate patience. I started to write my thoughts about how this whole cancer experience was growing some passionate patience within me. Then I stopped and thought about it for a while. Actually, I have been thinking about it for almost a week now. I am not patient. I wait. When I have no choice, but I am not patient. I am definitely not passionate about it.

I think I am raising an equally impatient wait-er because of my own impatience. Amelia and I are working on it. We are practicing a couple of sentences that we say to each other when we need to encourage patience. I am patient. I will wait. I don’t know if that is helping to create actual patience in us or just creating more impatient waiting, but I am looking for opportunities.

Passionate patience—compelled by, ruled by a strong feeling, emotional expression of steady perseverance, a bearing of provocation annoyance, misfortune WITHOUT COMPLAINT, loss of temper, or irritation.

How would one express passionate patience? Don’t I have the right to be a little impatient? I am dying faster than everyone else? Why do I have to wait? The excuses I give for my impatience are not excuses I would tolerate from my children.

It is something I am going to be more intentional about. Living with passionate patience. Not just waiting impatiently but being compelled to bear provocation without complaint, being ruled by steady perseverance.

What about you? Are you passionately patient or just an impatient wait-er? What will you do about it? How do you instill it into your kids?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

