Skip to content

My Momma Would be Proud

May 22, 2012

Your generosity overwhelms me. I mean completely bowls me over. My friends, family, co-workers, former coworkers, colleagues, former teachers, healthcare providers, people on the street who encounter me, EVERYONE has been so generous toward me and my family.

When Chris and I started down this journey, we told each other we would not speak in platitudes. We would say what we felt, what we believed, and what we knew to be true and while we might cushion it with kindness, we would not just speak platitudes or be trite with our words because Chris isn’t very good at it and because I need to be honest and not feel like I need to put make up on the things that I need to say. So when I say THANK YOU, I am not just being polite. When I say that we are bowled over, I mean, although I try not to cry in front of you, when you share what you have with us, I just get overwhelmed.

A couple of times I have even asked Chris why? Why are people responding this way? He replied this: some of them have been there. They know how hard it is and they know what you need, the others maybe don’t know what you need but they love you and respect you and just want to do something. Some of them you have been there for and the others know you would be if you were needed. I think my momma would be proud of that statement, all I know is whatever has motivated you, we thank you!

What we have experienced in this last month has been an overwhelming outpouring of love from everyone around us.

So many of you have asked us what we need and asked how you can help. Some of you are reminding us daily that we are in your thoughts and prayers. Some of you are just showing up and doing things and saying things like “ When my mother…” or “When my husband had cancer, he always liked when…”, “ When I went through that this helped…”, “We didn’t know what you needed, but thought this might be helpful…” Some of you have been sending such kind words and prayers in emails and phone messages and letters. Some of you have been dropping by to say hello and leaving gift cards on our table or food in our freezer or folding laundry while you sit and chat with me or play with my children. You have hung swings in my backyard and emptied my dishwasher and washed our underwear. Some of you have been going out of their way to make me laugh, which usually makes me cry, too. You have run 5K’s for me and half marathons for me, and later this summer, one of you will ride a 100 miler in my honor. Well let me tell you this. It is truly an honor.

I am honored to be counted as a friend. I am honored that you feel such compassion for me that you are moved to act. I am honored that you care. I am honored that you have offered to give not just some food or something but your time. I KNOW how precious that commodity is and you just keep handing it out to us. We are grateful.

We are in a treatment lull right now with the only thing scheduled this week being a little bitty bronchoscopy where they will biopsy the wayward spot on my lung and a follow up with the plastic surgeon. Hopefully, I can end my relationship with the plastic surgeon until sometime in the future when I want a little nip/tuck. Hey, now I have two plastic surgeons to recommend!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brenda Haynes permalink
    May 23, 2012 2:27 am

    I’m sure I speak for a lot of people…. I am honored to have worked with you. I am honored to have heard your beautiful voice sing to a dying patient. I am honored to call you friend. and…. I was honored to have taken care of your mama. I have been honored to have seen the twinkle in your daddy’s eye when he spoke of that new grandson . 🙂 I love you and so wish you lived close enough that I could wrap my arms around you and give you a hug!

  2. Monica permalink
    May 24, 2012 1:14 am

    I, like Brenda, wish I could hug you. Although I only worked with you briefly I always enjoyed your kindness. I will say that extra prayer tonight when my son and I pray out loud. Lots of love, Monica

Leave a Reply

