Skip to content

We talked about waiting, right?

May 11, 2012

Yesterday was the meeting with the oncologist to make a plan. I was excited to make a plan. I was ready to make a plan. I AM ready to get this show on the road. I don’t know how many people I had talked to yesterday and said how happy I was that the testing phase was over and the treatment phase could begin.

Have you noticed the tone? The use of tense? Turns out the treatment phase has a couple more hurdles. Turns out I get a little more practice with patience.

Turns out a whole different spot on my lung is lit up like a Christmas tree! This is not necessarily a bad thing. Here is the detail:

My PET scan on Wednesday was uneventful. I was not frightened, I was relaxed, I actually sat with Chris in the holding area and watched an episode of Big Bang and an episode of Dr. Who (we are nerds and appreciate nerd TV). I laughed. I breathed. I learned all about the Dalek. (If you aren’t watching Dr. Who, you should be). I didn’t have any epiphanal experiences. I didn’t need any. I learned that lesson last week, not that I won’t have to be reminded. You are all doing your job and I was calm.

On Thursday I met with our oncologist and he said “funny results with your PET scan, not at all what I was expecting.” When an oncologist says funny and when I say funny, I think there are two very different meanings. When he said funny he meant the place on my lung that he expected to be bright with radiation was not. Not at all. It was “cold” There was no uptake of the radiation whatsoever. What he meant was funny was that there was this whole other spot that could not be seen on CT scan that was as bright as the sun. It was by far the brightest spot on the scan. So what does this mean? The only thing it means definitively is that there is a small area in my right lung that consumes glucose at a much higher rate than the rest of me. This is indicative of a tumor but its actual content has yet to be defined. It needs to be investigated to either confirm or refute that it is melanoma. It is likely melanoma. That is the most obvious conclusion but it will require biopsy and pathology and another physician and another scan and another round of wait for results before we can get on with it.

It is frustrating. I am glad they did the PET scan. Without it we would not know this additional spot was there. I am glad we know it is there because now we can treat it. I am not so glad that there is another round of wait. Wait. Wait. Wait.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brenda Haynes permalink
    May 11, 2012 10:57 pm

    thoughts and prayers are with you sweetheart!

  2. Karen Greer permalink
    May 15, 2012 12:27 am

    Praying for you Mareeka

Leave a Reply

