Skip to content

Waiting

May 8, 2012

I have six doctors. I have regularly scheduled appointments with three of them. There is one visit that I dread. Granted it is only my third visit but there is always something wrong in this office. The wait is long, they don’t register me appropriately, they give poor instructions, I don’t listen appropriately, regardless the reason, I have to wait.

I am not a good wait-er. Especially in healthcare situations. Mostly, it is because I am impatient and because I am impatient. Part of it is because I do healthcare efficiency for a living.

It is hard for me to not involve myself. It is hard for me not to point out inefficiencies and offer solutions. It is hard for me to keep my mouth shut.

Most office folk don’t take kindly to the patient folk telling them how to run their business. It isn’t done.

I think patience is an expected learning opportunity in this process. Hurry up and wait. Be patient, we need to know more about the problem before we start with a solution. Tests seem to take forever to get resulted. Be on time, be early, wait you turn. Those are lessons I will learn in the next year.

What I will also learn is that not everyone wants my help. It is not my job to make everything better. It is not my job to point out everyone else’s flaws even if I think I can offer a workable solution.

I will spend this coming year working on me. Working on making me better. I will spend this next year being told what to do and when to do it.

These are lessons I need to learn. These are lessons I have avoided through most of my adult life. I have taken great pride in being in charge, in control.

This year will not be wasted. This year will not be one in which I merely survive. By hook or by crook, I will make opportunities to grow, to learn, to help others.

I am not sure today what exactly that is going to look like but I cannot just lay down and be for the next year. It isn’t in my nature.

What do you need to learn from your circumstances this year?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Paula Riley permalink
    May 9, 2012 4:47 pm

    Sweetheart, you have always been an enthusiastic learner, at least you were in 4th grade! We should all have the attitude, “I have not yet arrived, I DO NOT know everything…” life should be a classroom every day. love you, kid!

  2. May 9, 2012 6:34 pm

    What I need to learn from my circumstances is to slow down and enjoy each moment and the people that make up those moments. Our comfortable life can be changed in an instant…..so enjoy what you have, while you have it! Also, I need to be aware every day that God is in control……..his guidance in my life is perfect. I need to just let him guide!!!

  3. Janet permalink
    May 10, 2012 12:58 pm

    Please don’t become complacent. Accepting is good. But many of the inefficiencies need to be addressed. Calmly and with good, positive strength. And one at a time, not all at once. Letting the western world medical field treat u like an object, as many doctors try to do, makes u a victim of their world. Accept u can’t change them but be wise enough to be ur own advocate. U have the right to expect the kind of care u would be willing to give! U are strong and opinionated and know what ur body and soul need. Just listen and feel!

Leave a Reply

