Skip to content

I do hereby solemnly swear…

March 9, 2012
tags:

I am having a very first world problem. My clothes don’t fit. Pretty much any of them. I have dropped almost two sizes and the stuff in my closet is almost all too big and the stuff that I have saved almost fits but not quite. So I have been telling myself and my husband and pretty much anyone else that will listen to me this week.

I have changed clothes for work pretty much twice every day because everything looks dumpy or old or winter or blah or who in the world should COMPLAIN about this problem?

The truth of the matter is this: I still have a lot of things in my closet that fit, I have a perfectly good sewing machine and some basic knowledge of how to alter things, and I have a hidey hole in my office that currently houses three plastic bins of clothes that either don’t fit, I don’t like, or are the wrong season.

So here is what I am going to do–I am going to make a pledge to not wear the same outfit twice for the next 365 days. Big deal, you say. Go to Target, you say. Didn’t Nashville get a Nordstorm, you say? My issue is bigger than just changing sizes and needing to replace things. My issue is that I have lost myself in weight and babies and generalized business and I need to put some thought into things and not just buy more stuff that I will end up not liking and hanging in my closet or putting in a bin in the dark. I need to make myself think, to work a little bit.

So here is the pledge: I, Mareeka, being a bit stir crazy and having an extreme case of spring fever do solemnly swear not to purchase any items of clothing for the next whole year. I will not wear the same outfit twice, I will not complain about what is in my closet. I may buy undergarments, I may buy belts, I may buy shoes. I may buy jewelry. I may wear anything that is gifted to me and if it is gifted to me, I WILL wear it at some point in the next 365 days. I will chronicle my path here in this space and you can follow along, give me advise, laugh, cry, cringe. Whatever you feel. If you really want to mess with me, gift me something and make this challenging.

Today’s the first day of my journey to recapture my style! Good, bad, or ugly. I will post my outfits here and this time next year, I will probably not be here, I will probably be down on 21st street spending some dough.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Brenda Haynes permalink
    March 9, 2012 10:48 pm

    Girl, I am with you on losing myself, not liking anything, nothing fitting — and mine is not related to baby weight! I will root for you in this challenge….. but I’m DEFINITELY not taking it! Its bad enough wearing navy, gray, or brown scrubs 3 days a week! Post pictures!

Leave a Reply

