Skip to content

And I get away, again…

November 30, 2011

Here is the account of my recent run in with the law.  I admit that I sometimes embellish the content of conversation for the sake of my own imagination but this encounter is verbatim how the law came down on little ole me this week:

Mareeka:  Sitting at a stoplight in Franklin, in the cold and the rain, on my way home from yet another doctor’s appointment (this recovery has been fraught with annoyances)

Officer: Pulls up behind me, turns on lights

Mareeka:  Pulls into a parking lot and rolls down window, cue screaming cries from hungry 6 week old and “inside voice” singing of ABC’s by one backseat 20 month old. Pull out registration and insurance and notes that she has not put an updated insurance card in her vehicle, it appears to have expired in June.

Officer:  Do you know why I pulled you over?  (Without pausing for a breath) Wow, you have your hands full.

Mareeka:  No, sir.  I have no idea why.

Officer:  Do you know that your tags were expired in January?

Mareeka:  (Shakes head and rolls eyes) You are kidding me!  I had not even thought about it.

Officer:  (Looking in the backseat and rolling his eyes)  I can believe it!

In the end I did not get a ticket, he said it was too close to Christmas and even asked me if I had moved this year.  Apparently, the state of Tennessee does not forward registration paperwork. Genius!  

 

I have lost track of how many times I have been pulled over without getting a ticket and so far, from what I can tell this will get you out of paying a fine:

1.  Crying

2.  Being on your way to your wedding rehearsal

3.  Playing dumb

4.  Crying

5.  Being cute and 19 and smiling a lot 

6.  Playing dumb

7.  Being very pregnant–I have actually tested this one a couple times

8.  Having loud, barking dogs in the backseat of our car

9.  Having screaming children in the backseat of your car

 

I know I have gotten off easy, I know life isn’t fair, I know all bets are off when I finally get pulled over by a female officer, but this week, I was just grateful.

By the way, Chris has expired tags on his truck!

Is there anything you have let slip that might come back to bite you?

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2011 8:50 am

    Grrrrr.

  2. Crissy permalink
    December 5, 2011 3:11 pm

    also wearing a mini skirt and flirting a little bit with the cop works, or at least 10 years ago it did for me…now, I’m not so sure! lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

