Skip to content

Bye, bye, Summer!

August 24, 2011

 

We had a tradition growing up to mark the end of summer and the beginning of the school year with a BBS!  Bye, bye, summer!  I can’t remember any summer where we didn’t have one.  They started as a picnic with friends or a last trip to the pool and as we grew up they morphed into a shopping day somewhere with a nice lunch and new school clothes.  Occasionally, it turned into a whole weekend of fun. This tradition carried all the way through college and I have to say, I miss it.

It seems like the summers slip into falls, Christmas slides passed and one year is blending into another.  I need to slow things down.  I need to make more memories and fewer appointments in my calendar.  I need to mark time and split up the years into seasons.  I feel like it will bring time more into focus and help keep the days, months, years from sliding together in this mish-mash of our family that is not marked by the progression through grades.

Our family was together over the weekend to celebrate my niece’s first birthday and baptism and my dad said something while Hannah and I were prepping for the birthday party that made me think.  He said (and I am going to paraphrase to what I remember) “you girls had this (birthday parties/special treatment for special days) because your mother studied it.  Neither of us grew up with any of this and she thought it was important so she figured it out.”

I always thought that Mom was just cool like that–the whole BBS thing.  I thought she just wanted something to celebrate or one final blast before the grind of school.  She knew we needed to make a transition from summer to school, from lazy days to structure, from ending one phase to beginning another but she dressed it up in a party.  Maybe she read it somewhere that it was what she should do, maybe it was her own idea.  We will never know.  What I do know is this:  This is my last year of letting summer slip through the books and fade into fall without a BBS.  My kids may not be ready for school for several years, but I am bringing back the BBS.  I am going to take a page from my mom’s playbook and plan to mark transitions and make traditions that my kids will look back on with the same fondness that I remember BBS.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Hannah permalink
    August 25, 2011 12:56 am

    Like.

Leave a Reply

