Skip to content

My Cook Day and Your Cook Day, sitting by the Fire!

July 4, 2011

My sister got me sucked into this cook day thing (alternate post title).  And, boy, am I so glad she did.  Here is the scoop:  Hannah started having a cook day with a few friends and was telling me what a blessing it was to have a few meals a week that were pretty much freezer to oven to table.  I had one of those epiphaneous moments ( I think I just made up a word!) that actually, literally changed my life.  Here is what I thought:  I should do that!  So I did.  I have talked a little bit about this on Facebook, but thought I would review it here, too. And since I currently am down to one chicken breast, one pack of Italian sausage and a half eaten carton of ice cream in my freezer, I thought I would go through my planning steps and execution with you, too.

Please note that this will be in phases as I am planning this week and would normally execute next week but Chris has the unexpected pleasure of having three weekends free of call in a row and Cook Day should most certainly be reserved for days/weekends when your husband is on call and will not be available to hang out and play.

First, let me tell you the benefits that we have seen from adding a little bit of cook day n our life (If you haven’t caught on yet, I LOVE making lists):

  1. We were eating out 4-5 times a week on an average week, I like to blame my travel schedule for that, but part of it was just lack of preparation.  We now eat out once a week or less.
  2. We were eating way too much junk.  You can imagine with all that eating out we were consuming excellent sources of vitamins and minerals with a good healthy balance of fat, saturated fat, concentrated fat, glycolated fat, and sugar.  We are now eating much healthier–there is always room for improvement, but I can count the green things per day now and not the green things per week.
  3. We were starting to really look at how we were spending our money and when I tallied what we sent eating out, I was shocked and appalled.  I mean really, it was out of control.  Needless to say, we are spending much less money.
  4. We eat at the table as a family pretty much all the time.  Even Chris has started to enjoy and appreciate that time together.
  5. I am spending more time in the kitchen cooking things that I enjoy which may seem like a contradiction, but hear me out.  I like to cook, I enjoy cooking.  I get frustrated with the situation where I get home after a full days work and Miss A is going to need to eat in 30-4 minutes and I have to make something that the three of us will enjoy or I have to make two things and where has the time gone and I have to think about what I have on hand and forget if it is in the freezer cause it is never gonna thaw on time and then what will I serve with it and I don’t have enough of that and did I get more of that at the store and when was the last time I was at the store anyway, and do you get my drift?  Now the meals during the week are pretty well mapped out over the weekend and I am not coming into the kitchen every day with a baseline frustration with everything around me.  Ergo, I spend more time in the kitchen cooking things that I like.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2011 10:17 pm

    #5 just described my life. Can’t wait to hear the planning and execution phases.

    You Geerdes girls inspire me!

    • July 5, 2011 3:22 pm

      Leslie,
      I was writing the next post when i read your comment and thought “Pregnancy cravings are taking over your life? Is there something I missed?” then I remembered what post you were comment was referencing. Deflated.

Leave a Reply

