Skip to content

I am delusional, but only in a good way!

June 13, 2011

I labored under the delusion last week-all week-that yessterday was Father’s Day.  I called my Dad, I shipped him a gift (sorry Dad, it was going to be late).  Amelia and I gave Chris presents which he gladly accepted.  We made plans to go out for dinner.

Lovely!  I thought nothing else about it until Chris came home from the hospital and asked if he was going to get presents again next week.  He had been corrected by a few people at the hospital and informed that it wasn’t Father’s Day, after all.  I corrected him.  I argued with him.  I googled it and decided that every internet calendar was wrong.  I don’t like to be wrong-ever!

I say:  Good!  That gives me time to get a Father’s Day post that I am proud of instead of posting the one I have worked on several times and still don’t feel good about.  How do you write down how much you love your daddy without seeming gushy or trite?  Try it.  I bet it takes you a few iterations, too!  It will also give Daddy’s gift time to arrive on the actual Father’s Day and not be late.  Finally, Chris can have another present.  It probably won’t be any more or less exceptional that the ones he already received (How do you top the indelible hand and foot print of your 1 year old?).  But I do want him to feel appreciated and loved on the correct day!

Do you think I could get away with two Mother’s Days next year?  Maybe two birthdays?  Maybe we should just start the habit of a practice run for every holiday, birthday, and special occasion.  Maybe that will help me be on time and less forgetful!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 4:30 pm

    I think it would be impossible not to gush about my father hand what he means to me. But at the same time, I believe that’s perfectly okay. Gush. He’s your daddy, he deserves to be gushed about! I hope Chris liked the hand and foot print gift!

  2. Hannah permalink
    June 14, 2011 2:37 am

    hahahahahahahahahahahaha!

Leave a Reply

