Skip to content

Because I am feeling overwhelmed…

June 9, 2011

It is no secret that I have been feeling overwhelmed by adding another baby into our already precariously balanced mix.  I wrote a draft post that described in a very hifalutin’ (I will be using Southernisms frequently in this blog) way how I was managing my life and dealing with my incredibly entitled overwhelmed-ness.  Then I promptly discarded it.  The truth is there are thousands and very probably millions of working mothers of two (or more) out there that are getting it done and I can welcome another very much loved and anticipated baby into our home without waxing on and on about how this wasn’t exactly the best time or how hard this is for me.  I am subscribing to the suck it up school for a while to see where that gets me.

In addition to suck it up, I am trying to implement a little bit of discipline in my life.  I have already started the cook day in which I prepare meals or portions of meals and shove them in the freezer for days when I am not in the mood to cook or I have better things to do with my life–going to the pool has been prominent this week.  I have been increasingly working a budget to get our financial house in the best order possible and that gets better and easier every month. 

The last three weeks I have been working a house cleaning schedule that seems to be working out pretty well.  This renewed effort to keep my literal house in order came from a couple of places–first, I am not a very responsible housekeeper and don’t really enjoy any aspect of housework except the final product. For a while I kept the house in check with the assistance of a housekeeper–see last pregnancy when my friend Julie came over once a week and spic and spanned me and brought me McDonald’s sweet tea and sandwhiches–but with the advent of the concerted “financial house in order” and wanting to make some different choices with our money, I haven’t picked the housekeeper back up since Julie had a baby and went back to work herself.  Second, I spent the night at my friend Jeanne’s house a few weeks ago when I had to be in Kentucky for a family funeral.  I called her the night before and asked to come and stay, I showed up the next day and when I went in to her house after her having worked and chauffered her children all day, her home was beautiful.  It both inspired and shamed me.  She would say her house wasn’t clean, her house was just picked up, but I know better.  If she had been the one to call me and need a place to crash for the night, I too, would not have hesitated to say yes, but I would have had a long night getting things in order and still been apologetic when she arrived.  Thus, new leaf for me.

I was telling my sister about my new plan and she has decided that she will try it with me and be my acountabili-buddy.  I think the hating housework may be genetic.  She also pointed me to a website:  www.flylady.com that gives good advice and instruction about routines and building habits and the like.  So I have sent her my cleaning schedule and I am posting it here for you, doggie poo and all.  It is out there in the universe and I am thus, even more responsible to be responsible!  It seems simple enough but I have been thoughtful about how our life runs and what order things need to be performed.  It also assumes a few things that we have mastered:  toys get picked up at the end of the day, dirty clothes get put in a hamper somewhere, spills and gross get cleaned up immediately.  I am going into week three and I can very proudly say:  YOU ARE WELCOME IN MY HOUSE ANYTIME! (Although you will have to give me time to change the sheets in the spare room because Dingo can open that door and the dogs like to romp on that bed.  I thought there was someone living in my house during the day, but that is another story for another time)

My House Cleaning Schedule:

Day Task Seasonal
     
Monday Finish any leftover Laundry or DO NOTHING  
     
“Toilet” Tuesday Clean bathrooms, load/unload dishwasher Water
     
Wednesday DO NOTHING  
     
“Dog Hair” Thursday Floors and dust, empty stray trash cans, trash to the curb, load/unload dishwasher Water
     
Friday DO NOTHING  
     
Saturday Load/unload Dishwasher, sweep kitchen, plan meals and prep/grocery Mow/Weed eat, pick up doggie poo
     
Sunday Laundry Day, change sheets  
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    June 9, 2011 3:42 pm

    I LOVE your blog! I think I will be putting the cleaning schedule into effect in our home immediately! I also need a Dog Hair Thursday and Dog Poo Sat!

  2. Brenda permalink
    June 10, 2011 3:14 pm

    I’ve been Flying, off and on, since I was in my 20s. I did OAMC when in nursing school. I’m currently using 5dinners1hour. Menu provided once a month (can try it for free). Prep 5 meals for dinner in under 45 minutes. We’ve liked most of the meals. I usually only make 4 meals as I don’t cook on work days!

    • June 10, 2011 4:30 pm

      I am going to have to check out the 5 dinners. I am looking for some fresh ideas. I still have to remind myself that taking something from freezer to oven to table is still a blessing to my family and not a cop out! I have also joined allrecipes menu planner so I can share menu ideas and cook day menus with my sister. It is a small fee, but has some nice, time saving tools and apps.

Leave a Reply

