Skip to content

The problem with some people…

June 5, 2011

My mother was a very quotable woman.  Mostly it was scripture or song that came from her mouth, but she also had lots of millisecond wisdom that has stuck.  One thing that I have been reflecting on a lot lately, particularly as my daughter exerts more and more personality, is something she would say when I was trying to rationalize the irrational behavior of an adult:  The problem with some people is that their parents were raising children and not adults!  So here goes the recording of my quest–to raise my babies to become responsible, compassionate, caring adults, to continue my own journey into being a better woman, better wife, and better friend.

I am sharing it with the world because of  few things:  my family and friends are spread out and it seems like a better way to stay in touch than three second messages on Facebook, because it gives me an outlet to write and reflect, and because I have a horrible memory and this might help set the record straight for my children in days and years to come.

So here goes, you are welcome to come along for the ride!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Hannah permalink
    June 6, 2011 2:20 am

    Yay! (That’s all I have to say right now. But I mean it.)

  2. Dad permalink
    June 6, 2011 2:00 pm

    Just make sure you never let the truth get in the way of a good story.

  3. Grace permalink
    June 6, 2011 10:34 pm

    You were a very cute little girl but I am happy to say that your parents didn’t settle for that. You have become an upstanding adult.

  4. Rebecca permalink
    June 7, 2011 3:07 am

    Yeah!! I have marked the page and am anxious to see what you have to say. I look forward to it on many levels, one of which is a hope that I will know your mother better through you. I did enjoy her bits of wisdom but I especially apreciated her peaceful disposition.

Leave a Reply

